Visit El Dorado
Live Here
Do Business Here
Chamber of Commerce
« View All News

SAAC Hosts Artist Reception for Juried Art Competition

Posted on July 16, 2012

The Visual Arts Committee of the South Arkansas Arts Center hosts an artist reception in the Merkle and Price Galleries for the 2012 Annual Juried Art Competition on Saturday, July 21, from 6:00 to 7:30 p.m. Awards will be presented by guest judge Manuela Well-Off-Man, Ph.D., assistant curator at the Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art in Bentonville, Arkansas, at 6:30 p.m. The reception is free and open to the public.

With almost 300 entries submitted from across the United States, Dr. Well-Off-Man selected 65 works of which 62 are currently on display in the galleries until July 30. Congratulations to the artists accepted in the show, especially El Dorado artists Sandy Bennett , Kelly Campbell, Mike Means, Sarah E. Merkle, and Paul Waschka.

National artists included in the exhibition are Christine Alfery of Lac du Flambeau, Wisconsin; Robert Bean of Little Rock, Arkansas; Sheila Blake of Takoma Park, Maryland; Kelly Blevins of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Katie Boatman of Columbia, South Carolina; Shannon Cameron of Sparks, Maryland; Kevin Caron of Phoenix, Arizona; Toa Castellanos of Miami Beach, Florida; Lin Chen of Charleston, Arkansas, Ahmet Civelek of New York, New York; Elise Courtois of New York, New York; Linda Dautreuil of Covington, Louisiana; Whitney Davis of Hays, Kansas; Virmarie DePoyster of North Little Rock, Arkansas; Tracie Easler of Chesnee, South Carolina; Chelsea Eiben of San Diego, California; Carol Flori of Texarkana, Arkansas; Hunter Foster of Sherwood, Arkansas; Rachelle Gardner of Mission, Kansas; Marlene Gremillion of Hot Springs Village, Arkansas; Michelle Grove of Santa Fe, New Mexico; Sharon Hacker of Little Rock, Arkansas; Victoria Hanks of Montclair, New Jersey; and Mary Hardy of Ocean Springs, Mississippi.

Also included in the exhibition are Sharon Harper of Springfield, Missouri; Cindy Holmes of Texarkana, Texas; Pam Hulse of Savannah, Georgia; John Kling of Springdale, Arkansas; Nan Liu of Tallahassee, Florida; John A. Malveto of Walker, Louisiana; Bryan Massey of Conway, Arkansas; Sarah Mattingly-Benson of North Little Rock, Arkansas; Kym Miller of Marble, North Carolina; Willis Miller of Fayetteville, Arkansas; Walter Mosley of Brooklyn, New York; Bill Myers of Ocean Springs, Mississippi; Hannah O'Toole of Wilmington, New York; Laura Raborn of Little Rock, Arkansas; Carla Rokes of Wilmington, North Carolina; Dave Rollins of Bell Buckle, Tennessee; Gloria Rosner of Irvington, New York; MaryAnn Stafford of Maumelle, Arkansas; Jane Strauss of Minneapolis, Minnesota; Douglas Thielscher of Berkeley, California; Ann Trimble of Los Angeles, California; Rachel Trusty of Hot Springs, Arkansas; Kenna Westerman of Little Rock, Arkansas; Richard Weis, Grand Rapids, Michigan; Margaret Withers of Brooklyn, New York; and Emily Wood of Little Rock, Arkansas.

The 2012 Juried Art Competition and exhibition bring some of the best artists from across the nation to South Arkansas and is currently on display in the galleries through July 30. For more information about the reception or exhibition, contact the SAAC office at 862-5474 or visit "