Visit El Dorado
Live Here
Do Business Here
Chamber of Commerce
« View All News

Early voting for mayor begins today

Posted on June 12, 2018

Early voting begins today for a runoff election between El Dorado mayoral candidates Bill Luther and Chris Lutman.

Luther and Lutman emerged as the front-runners in a three-way race with incumbent Mayor Frank Hash during the Republican preferential primary election on May


Luther grabbed 516 votes (43.07 percent), and Lutman garnered 374 votes (31.22 percent) to edge out Hash (308, 25.71 percent), who is serving his second term as mayor, and force a runoff on June


Neither candidate pulled out more than 50 percent of the votes — which is required for a decisive victory.

For the runoff election, El Dorado voters will be able to cast their early ballots in the Union County Courthouse from 8:30 a.m. until 5 p.m, Monday — Friday until June 18.

Only people who voted in the Republican primary election and those who did not vote in the primary at all will be eligible to vote in the runoff.

“If they voted Democrat, they will not be allowed to vote or if they voted nonpartisan in the judicial races, they will not be allowed to vote in the runoff,” Union County Clerk Shannon Phillips has said.

On June 19, Election Day, voters may go to their polling sites from 7:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m.

Polling places are:

• Ward 1, Union County Fairgrounds, 1430 E. 19th.

• Ward 2, Hillsboro Street Christ, 1322 W. Hillsboro.

• Ward 3, St. James Village Outreach Facility, 1308 E. Hillsboro.

• Ward 4, El Dorado Municipal Auditorium.