Visit El Dorado
Live Here
Do Business Here
Chamber of Commerce
« View All News

Election 2018: Veronica Smith-Creer new El Dorado mayor, other Union County results

Posted on November 7, 2018

Veronica Smith-Creer has been elected the new mayor of El Dorado.

El Dorado has elected its first African-American mayor.

Veronica Smith-Creer beat Bill Luther 2,447 (50.38 percent) to 2,360 (48.58 percent), with independent candidate Trang My Lu receiving 50 votes (1.02 percent).

Smith-Creer, a Democrat, has been active in many community organizations and is vice chairman of the South Arkansas Community College Board of Trustees.

Luther, a Republican, was a former regional representative for Entergy Corp.

In other contested Union County races (candidates are independents unless otherwise indicated):

County Judge

Mike Loftin, Democrat, 7,879

Cliff Preston, Republican, 4,489

County Clerk

Shannon Phillips, Democrat, 6,774

Goldie Hilburn, Republican, 5,393


Stormey Primm, Republican, 6,732

Martavious Carrigan, Democrat, 5,565

City of El Dorado

Alderman, Ward 1, Position 2

Billy E. Blann, 588

Alderman, Ward 4, Position 1

Paul D. Choate, Republican, 739

Patrick D. Frazier, Democrat, 578

City of Calion


Bill Yutzy, 110

Herman Curley, 25,

Jesse M. Amason, 11

City of Felsenthal

Linda J. Newbury, 37

Mary Seymore, 18

Alderman, Position 3

Amy Linder, 35

Penny Owens, 18

City of Huttig



Tony Cole, 67

Larry Hodge, 54

David Lee, 52

City of Junction City


Allen Simmons, 103

Larry New, 54

Smackover Constable

Danny Paul Farley, 315

Jeffrey D. Hedges, 294

City of Smackover


Bobby Neal, Democrat, 403

Donald R. Hopkins, 87


Veronica Smith-creer
Bill Luther
El Dorado