Visit El Dorado
Live Here
Do Business Here
Chamber of Commerce
« View All News

73 Students Named Arkansas Scholars

Posted on May 21, 2012

Published in the El Dorado News-Times on May 22, 2012.

Seventy-three members of the El Dorado High School graduating class of 2012 were recognized as Arkansas Scholars at a reception and awards ceremony at the South Arkansas Arts Center on Monday, hosted by the Union County Community Foundation, the El Dorado Education Foundation, El Dorado Chamber of Commerce and the South Arkansas Arts Center.

The Arkansas Scholars program was established to encourage and reward academic achievement among the state?s high schools. In order to be designated an Arkansas Scholar, a student is required to meet four individual criterion in grades nine through 12: grades (semester grades no lower than a C); attendance (95 percent or better); curriculum (three years of science and social sciences and four years of English and math) and commitment (complete high school education in eight consecutive semesters).

Each student was presented with a certificate of achievement for meeting the designated criteria for the Arkansas Scholars program and a red honor cord to wear at commencement. Sponsors of the Arkansas Scholars program are the El Dorado Chamber of Commerce, El Dorado Public Schools, El Dorado Education Foundation and the Union County Community Foundation.

For more information on the Arkansas Scholars program, contact Christy Murphy at the chamber at (870) 863-6113 or

Arkansas Scholars honored Monday include Rachel Anzalone, Regina Beckles, Wilson Beebe, Aakash Belsare, Hannah Burroff, Gelina Buslig, Caroline Callaway, Valeria Chavez, Jetavon Christian, Jared Coleman, Jordan Coleman, Brittany Collins, Katherine Connelly, Haley Cook, Aylwyn Corpus, Nolan Crall, Breyonna Creer, Gregory Crew, Michelle Culver;

Sarah Daniels, Kathyryn Dumas, Kanesha Evans, Lakyn Faulkner, Jonathan Fields, Tori Francis, Deonte Garrett, Sarah Benton Garrison, Chris Gathright, Zhana Gentle, Sabrina Hardy, Will Harter, Aaron Hastings, Nathan Hastings, Allison Hegi, Kyle Herren, Alison Hill, David Hill, Courtney Howard, Kelsey Howard, Kelsey Jackson, Mattie Klippert, Megan Klippert;

Devin Lephere, John Tyler Lewis, Stephen Lewis, Lauren Lockhart, Lura Mangum, Logan Maynor, Donald Miller, Ricky Miller, Kinsey Moline, Joseph Morris, Jewell Murphy, Elizabeth Niel, Corey Parker, Meera Patel, Paras Patel, Vincent Pierce, Emily Polk, Hannah Ponder, Ashley Pratt, Meredith Rice, Micah Sanford, Dillon Smith, Sequoia Snowden, Zac Sparks, Tyler Steward, Emily Strate, Jacob Vance, Jordan Vance, Kelly Vanlandingham, Elizabeth Vernon and Kendell Whitehead."