Visit El Dorado
Live Here
Do Business Here
Chamber of Commerce
« View All News

Early voting in Union County begins Monday

Posted on October 24, 2016

Published by El Dorado News Times

By Janice McIntyre

This article was published October 23, 2016 at 5:00 a.m.

EL DORADO – Early voting for the Nov. 8 General Election will begin on Monday and Union County voters will cast ballots for several local, state and presidential candidates.

Early voting for the Nov. 8 General Election – 15 days prior to the election – starts Monday throughout the state and registered voters can cast ballots in Union County at the Union County Clerk of Court’s office on the first floor of the courthouse in downtown El Dorado. Early voting hours are from 8 a.m. until 6 p.m. Monday through Friday and from 10 a.m. until 4 p.m. on Oct. 29 and Nov. 5. Early voting ends at 5 p.m. on Nov. 7 – the day prior to the election.

Presidential candidates who will appear on the ballot include: Donald J. Trump, Republican; Jim Hedges, Independent and Bill Bayes, vice president; Darrell L. Castle, Constitution; Gary Johnson, Libertarian; Evan McMullan, Better for America; Hillary Clinton, Democrat; Jill Stein, Green and Lynn. S. Kahn, Independent and Kathleen Monahan, vice president.

In addition to casting ballots for the next president of the United States, Union County voters will also vote for U.S. Senate – Frank Gilbert, John Boozman or Conner Eldridge; U.S. Congress, District 4, Kerry Hicks or Rep. Bruce Westerman; State Senate, District 27, Sen. Bobby Pierce or Trent Garner; State Representative District 7, Glenn Glover, Sonia Baker or Floyd M. Thomas Jr.; Court of Appeals Associate Judge (District 5), James McMenis or Mark Klappenbach and State District Court, District 35, John D. Lightfoot or Jack Barker.

Union County voters residing in Districts 3, 5 and 8 will select Union County Quorum Court justices, including District 3 – Greg Harrison or Mike Makepeace; District 5 – Carolyn Jones or James E. Thomas and District 8 – J. Dayne Ibert or William Crowder.

El Dorado residents in Ward 1, will choose either Mike Rice or Joffre Long for Position 1 alderman. In Huttig, voters will choose either John Osgood or Van Page for alderman, Ward 3, Position 2 and in Strong, voters residing in Ward 2, will select the Position 2 alderman, Ivy Daniels or Charles L. Perry.

Arkansas voters will also vote for or against seven ballot issues.